Flying High

Flying is a part of life. We just do it and are thankful for every safe take off and landing.
It was a flight to Phoenix, AZ when I realized the depths of my husband’s fear. He was still heavy into his addiction at the time. Quickly making friends on the plane they drank their worries away as we crossed state lines.
Now is a good time to mention most people adore my husband. He is a man’s man, big and authoritative. The guy’s got a million dollar smile and in nine years I’ve only witnessed one woman he couldn’t charm.
As his worry diminished mine grew. In my adult life I had never been to this airport. How was I to get him off the plane, find our luggage and the pick-up line without him getting cited for being drunk and disorderly? At this point though, I didn’t care if he spent the whole weekend in jail. However, I considered the fines. And then there was his temper. For now though, he was happy, he had new friends and a raging buzz. The plane landed and we all stumbled out.
Taking our places around baggage claim I saw him remove his jaunty hat and place it across his heart. For a fleeing moment I thought he was having a heart attack. Then in his beautiful voice full of depth and range he belted out the national anthem.
People followed suit taking their hats off as well. We all stared at the non moving baggage carousel. In the end everyone applauded. I can only assume they were either just as drunk or they did not want to seem unpatriotic in an airport. When I asked him why? He pulled me in close, kissed my forehead and simply said,”Baby you always got to thank God for a safe flight.”
L.K. Brown

About L.K. Brown

I like reading, sports & the outdoors. My hobbies are the theatre, DIY projects & writing. I've been with my husband for nine years supporting his recovery from drug addition through the good times & bad. It is still a daily process. Follow me on Pinterest L.K. Brown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

