Trust

Trust: So easily given, so quickly taken away, so difficult to regain.

Part of my husband’s treatment included a seminar for those who support their addict’s recovery. We were to learn how to cope with our addicts when they came home from rehab. These weekend classes were a key factor I took into consideration when searching for a treatment center. Our sisters, my mother-in-law and her sister attended them with me. Both my husband and I come from super supportive families. Obviously, this helps but, ultimately it’s up to the addict to stay clean.
All the councilors told us to give our addicts time. To allow the trust to build back and the reward would become one of the best relationships ever experienced. They were right.
The exact moment I knew we had more trust than ever before was more recent than I would like to admit. Sitting in the audience with my mom and his sponsor, listening to my husband tell his story on his 5 year clean date it dawned on me. I thought, “wow, it took a moment for me to fall in love with him and just a short time of terrible incidences for me to distrust him.”
I try not to think of our bad times because resentments are exhausting and I cannot change the past.
“Over the years we believed in our partnership. Now look at us, eight-plus years from when we met and we are better than ever. Finally, we have the trust we lost.”
I’m talking about real trust not the superficial,” he knows how I like my coffee,” kind of trust. I’m talking about,” baby making trust,” with heart and soul. Knowing we have become the team we always knew we could be.
This is what they call happiness. Being the best person you can with the one you trust the most. We made it!
L.K.Brown

About L.K. Brown

I like reading, sports & the outdoors. My hobbies are the theatre, DIY projects & writing. I've been with my husband for nine years supporting his recovery from drug addition through the good times & bad. It is still a daily process. Follow me on Pinterest L.K. Brown
This entry was posted in Lessons Learned and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

