Hiding

When your addict is in active addiction you become very guarded. For me, I was terrified of anyone discovering my secret life of perpetual fear. As my husband continued deeper into his love for drugs I stopped exposing him to “normal” people. At the same time, the “normal” people stopped inviting us out. Double dates and parties became a thing of the past.

Consequently, my world shrunk smaller and smaller. At one point I was down to a handful of friends. These people would badger me to hang out with them. For me this was torture. I had nothing to say to them. Every aspect of my life was falling apart.

Finally, my best friend called me and ripped me a new one, as only best friends can. There was crying and yelling and long uncomfortable silences. By the end I was thankful for the conversation but, I knew something had to change.

Throughout our talk I blamed my addict for all my unhappiness. Drugs were running my life and I didn’t even get to enjoy the high. As I hung up the phone I realized it was not just my addict who needed change. I had lost site of myself. Emotionally beat down I resigned to make my own lifestyle change.

Thanks Friends,
L.K. Brown

About L.K. Brown

I like reading, sports & the outdoors. My hobbies are the theatre, DIY projects & writing. I've been with my husband for nine years supporting his recovery from drug addition through the good times & bad. It is still a daily process. Follow me on Pinterest L.K. Brown
This entry was posted in Lessons Learned and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

