Letters

Saddened by Addiction
8375 N. First Ave.
Monberry, IL 41325
411 Hope You Can Help Ln.
Changeville, USA 80372

August 25, 2013

To Whom It May Concern,

My name is L. K. Brown. I am a concerned citizen penning my plight. Seeking restitution for the pain and suffering addiction inflicts on our citizens. Please, contact me regarding the whereabouts of the party responsible for this transgression. They should be held accountable for their wrong doings.
In the 80’s we waged a war against addiction. Back then, we battled for the streets wearing our DARE T-shirts and signed pledges to never do drugs. At the time little me skipped off to, “Say No to Drugs,” classes. I liked the war. You knew where you stood. Regrettably, as so many ideals we used to have, addiction is now a blurred subject.
Aside from the obvious junkie on the street or kid with too much time and no imagination, there has emerged a new addict. The drug alley has become a Dr.’s office. New addicts are people like my 90 year old grandmother with Alzheimer’s. She is prescribed to take pain medication she doesn’t need, in order to manage the agony the pills convinced her body to depend on. Having consumed them for a decade, if you were to cut her off she would die from withdrawals. Most people have not seen a person detox, it’s arduous to watch and horrific to endure. So I’ve been told of the latter, I’ve only experienced the former. All of these meds keep her up at night, so in addition she takes sleeping pills. This elaborate ordeal is for a woman who on a daily basis tells me she wishes the Lord would come for her. She misses her husband and longs to be with him in heaven.
The question remains, who am I allowed to blame for her cycle of doom? Could everyone involved be to blame? The selfless souls in her life provide a martyred line up. There is the Dr. who wrote then original prescription for her back pain. Then you have, the pharmaceutical sales rep., my sister’s occupation. An individual selling medication she’s confident restores patient’s health. And then you have my Mom, her caregiver, the closest person to her. Gram’s biggest cheerleader. The tireless fighter, battling for her mother’s well being at every appointment. Are we to blame her? The consent optimist. Continuing her faith in the next Dr. visit. “Yes,” she convinces herself, “the next one with eliminate my mother’s pain.”
In the end society blames the drug corporations. As do I, reluctantly. What other option does our family have? Grandma’s lived a long and fulfilling life. Even if her last years became an unfortunate example of a common American family situation. All anyone wants is to see her happy one last time. I long to place blame anywhere. Unfortunately for me, the bad guys are faceless corporations. And, obsessing over who to blame is an unhealthy habit.
My consolation prize is stated a philosophy my husband holds dear. According to Big D the war on drugs is over. We won. By the acceptance of understanding addiction is a non-discriminatory disease of which the only cure is abstinence, we carry on. Grandma always kept an open mind regarding life’s changes. When she was well she consistently sought knowledge. Taking pride in her continued practice of progressive thoughts.
If you happen upon a person to blame, I would appreciate their contact information. Penning a letter to the responsible party is my next corse of action. Your consideration in my concern is appreciated.

Yours Sincerely,
L.K. Brown

“Letters,” is dedicated in the memory of Grandma Eleanor. Thank you for taking such exceptional care of all of us. Give Grandpa a hug from me. XoXo

About L.K. Brown

I like reading, sports & the outdoors. My hobbies are the theatre, DIY projects & writing. I've been with my husband for nine years supporting his recovery from drug addition through the good times & bad. It is still a daily process. Follow me on Pinterest L.K. Brown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

