Holiday Fun

Happy Holidays!

Having been raised in the United States by a flag flying family our holiday season has always begun at Thanksgiving. Board games, football, shopping and puzzles are the traditions of our holiday family fun. The thing about holiday fun is it comes with a price, a reminder of past holiday fun. For an addict who is active or in recovery the season can turn into a nightmare relived.

Big D and I try to focus on the present but we are, “hu-mortal.” (Big-D’s word for people) We are real folks who love visiting with family, but the fact of the matter is, the holidays make us crumble. We turn into stressed out balls of goo.

I stress over making food, eating too much food, cleaning and gifting. Big D stresses over paying for all of it. As a non-addict I handle stress by engaging in long conversations with my best friend and habitually going to the gym. Being an addict in recovery Big D does not handle stress as well. This time of year quickly becomes overwhelming for my love. Rapid thoughts stream thru his brain and before anyone can say, “Happy Thanksgiving,” I find my cherished wallowing in despair. With-in a moment’s notice he is sitting on the couch surrounded by broken plates of burnt dinner.

It is at this time I remember to stay calm. Taking a pause to remind myself addicts in recovery still deal with a daily medical disease. In sickness or health my role is to nurture. Please, do not be delusional to my situation, as the support I am also completely capable of loosing my mind. However, when I do because I have been steady and supportive, he returns the favor.

Live with Love,
Live in Health,
Live Happy and Enjoy The Season!

About L.K. Brown

I like reading, sports & the outdoors. My hobbies are the theatre, DIY projects & writing. I've been with my husband for nine years supporting his recovery from drug addition through the good times & bad. It is still a daily process. Follow me on Pinterest L.K. Brown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

